Freaked Out About the New Healthcare Changes?

You aren’t alone – even those who think it’s a positive step are a wee bit concerned over how it will affect them individually. 

Here’s a helpful rundown of the provisions and here’s a nifty little tool to help calculate how you and your family will be affected, if at all.  My own result was that our insurance will not be affected, unless we pay more than 9.5% of our yearly income in healthcare premiums (we don’t) and we will be subject to no additional taxes.  Sounds fine to me.

I can see people are worried.  On my facebook account, there are loads of responses.  Some comments are completely unfounded, brutally ignorant (“Oh I knew I would miss ole “W”! He may have talked like a Texan but, hey, at least we knew he was born in the U.S.! HAHAHA!”) and painfully melodramatic (“Just so u know a white came up with the same health care bill and put it in force, in the past. His name was hitler”). 

Several have threatened to leave the country (send us a postcard, ok?).  Some are silly (“The next thing you know, the government will be in charge of the military too!” and “Bring it! Palin and Beck hate it, so it can’t be all bad!”) or excited (“woot! Now let’s fix the mess”) and many are wondering when they can participate. 

One was cynical about why Congress is exempt from the bill.  They’re not.

One cracked me up:

“Sara[h] can’t help you now. Your rights will be violated, civilisation as we know it will end, the country will be morally bankrupt, the homosexuals will corrupt your children and whatever else Fox News has been telling you will happen. The machine can’t be stopped, even if we wanted to.”

Most are hopeful:

“Today I’m celebrating the health care vote last night and my Grandma’s 90th birthday. She thinks health care reform is the best gift she could have received.”

and

“Thank you U.S. Congress for passing the Healthcare Reform Act. It scares me some, but I think it is a step in the right direction. As the mother of a 5 year old cancer survivor that has used 75% of her lifetime insurance maximum and thus has a pre-existing condition, this is something that I hope will affect her immensely in a positive way in her future life.”

And my personal favorite:  “Well hot damn. It passed.”

You are entitled to your opinion, but an opinion is useless if it’s not based on truthful information.  This reform affects all of us, so educate yourselves and don’t let the meaningless divisive rhetoric get in the way of the facts.

11 Comments

  1. jonolan said,

    March 22, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    You left out the secondary effects caused by the increased taxes and the increased employer requirements.

  2. Eron said,

    March 22, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    Looks like you are stealing comments off of peoples pages. That “Ole W” quote was mine and I sure as hell wouldn’t won’t you to not have anything else to use. Why don’t you post some that actually talk about the healthcare bill and what the problem is with it. Come on…..friend me on FB. Then you will TONS of more quotes to pick from!

  3. Eron said,

    March 22, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    And excuse the misspellings……but responding to idiot comments really gets me typing fast!

  4. March 22, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    They are comments I saw from my Facebook account: some from my wall and some from people’s pages, Eron, and from what I saw of your other comments, I don’t think we’d get along. I willl say that the (pro reform) people you were arguing with were being pretty over the top themselves, however their responses weren’t literate enough to bother with – they would have had me worked up too.

    Thanks for the responses.

  5. March 22, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    I’ll just add this as well, for anyone (Hi, Gina!) interested:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Texas_v._White

  6. March 22, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Jonolan, I didn’t leave it out because I was not discussing the merits of the bill here. It was just a commentary on the responses I saw today in my little corner of the internet.

    Thanks.

  7. Am said,

    March 22, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    My Facebook is so deliciously douche-free! I mean, they might be out there but they don’t talk crap on FB, God bless ’em!

  8. March 22, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    Am, I was just having a very intelligent discussion on someone’s page (with, yes, someone who doesn’t agree with me on many (ok, most) points) and my friend, the page owner, deleted us, lol. It was a good discussion, though!

    He did say butter was a bad thing. WTF???

  9. Am said,

    March 23, 2010 at 1:46 am

    If he says butter is a bad thing, there is no hope for him. Forget about politics for a minute – if we can’t even agree on the deliciousness of dairy fat, we’re effed.

  10. John McKee said,

    March 23, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Neat blog RL – found my way here from Alan Colmes’ site. Bookmarked!

  11. March 23, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Thanks, John. I’ve seen your comments and you sound quite sane. Feel free to chip in at anytime. I only dabble in political blogging – most of my blog is really mundane mommy stuff, so I’ll be back to that soon enough.


Leave a Reply

