Tax Day Ramblings

Happy Tax Day! If you haven’t filed, you now have less than a half hour to do so. Unless you are on the west coast (hour and a half) or they IRS owes you. And if you aren’t done with your return, you really should not be reading this blog. Go on, now – scram! Now, if they owe you then they are perfectly content to sit on your money as long as possible and aren’t going to fuss about it at all. I don’t blame them – if you let me borrow your money I’m not going to hound you to take it back either.

I did my parents’ taxes this weekend. Filed them yesterday. Dad doesn’t use a computer. Well, neither of them do. He was extremely skeptical about the idea of “e-filing.” I had to explain that there was actually less of a chance of errors with it being efiled – no input errors, no lost-in-the-mail issues, etc. And the check – how would they process a check over the internet, he wanted to know? How is that possible? Would people have access to his bank account? ” I don’t want any part of that!”

After much cajoling, I finally convinced him to efile – namely because it was much easier than a trek with the three little ones to the Post Office. So I efiled for them on the 14th. I called afterward and told him that it went through and marveled at how easy it was. I got the confirmation email via Turbotax and sat back to wait for it to be formally “accepted” by the IRS.

Today in the late afternoon, I got the notice that it had been rejected.

No, I did not tell my parents. I did scurry about quietly fixing the clerical error and then re-sent that bad boy well before midnight tonight. I doubt they would be very impressed with the efiling system if they knew about the rejection notice. Shhh – I won’t tell them if you won’t.

Leave a Reply

